No One Cares

I am going to be honest and I am going to get some heat for this…

No one cares.

I know that sounds harsh and cynical, but hear me out.

Take your Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram friends. Look at how many “friends” you have on each. How many of those “friends” do you actually communicate with on said social media site (likes, comments, private messages, replies, etc.)? How many of those “friends” actually communicate with you?

So why do you feel this need to share every single detail of your life with acquaintances who do not care for the details, many of whom you have never met? Call me old school, but I think certain things are best kept between your closest family and friends.

Sure, there are events that are understandable to share like a status about your engagement, marriage, pregnancy/birth of child, or new job. However, there is such thing as sharing TOO much.

Here is the difference between a sufficient amount of information and TMI:

An acceptable status:  “Billy Bob and I are having a girl!”

A TMI status: “Ugh, the third trimester sucks. Thankfully, I have the sweetest hubby who went out and bought me some of my favorite ice cream:  STRAWBERRY! How sweet is he? Baby girl is kicking! Here are the latest ultrasounds! (insert picture here)”

Image

If I care at all, I only care enough to know that you and Billy Bob are having a girl. I do not need a mental image of your pregnancy. And, honestly, I could go the rest of my life without seeing an ultrasound of your baby…inside of you. Same way I only care enough to know you were recently engaged or married; I do not necessarily need to know your wedding itenerary or if you are going to use baby’s breath or roses. When you go on your honeymoon, I do not care to see 10 different pictures of your mojito, glued to your hand, and seems to travel around Cancun with you.

Be mysterious. Let people actually be excited for you when you tell them the details in person. Here is a shocking idea:  SURPRISE PEOPLE!

Leave a Reply

